2019 EDS Tier 1 & 2 Squads Announced

Netball Tasmania’s Tier 1 and 2 Elite Development Squads (EDS) have now been confirmed for 2019.

The EDS program is designed to provide a graduated experience to help build junior athlete aspirations for elite Netball opportunities and to assist the athletes to make the transition through a more structured talent development program, which is crucially linked to a high-performance program.

Tier 1 consists of the five Tasmanian-based, Tasmanian Magpies athletes. These athletes will work in a daily training environment, consisting of a personalised strength and conditioning session supported by the Tasmanian Institute of Sport (TIS), as well as court sessions run by Netball Tasmania appointed EDS coaches.

Northern Hawks GA/WA, Zoe Claridge is a new addition to the Tier 1 program this year, after an impressive season in the RACTI Tasmanian Netball League (TNL) and her inclusion in the 2019 Tasmanian Magpies squad. Cripps’ Ashleigh Probert-Hill also fills one of the five spots, with a promotion from the second tier.

Tier 2 athletes will also be supported by the TIS, with a generic strength and conditioning program, plus Netball Tasmania run court sessions.

With a revised structure in Tasmanian Magpies and Tier 1, more spots have opened for the next generation and upcomers of athletes in Tasmanian Netball to form Tier 2 of the program. In 2019, 18 athletes and two umpires will participate in the program – with eight returning and 10 being promoted from the entry level of the program.

Selection for these programs are done by panels of selectors, who will view athletes at a variety of competitions; including State League, National Championships, Association Competitions, as well as performance in other Netball Tasmania run programs/squads.

Tier 3 of the program will be announced in June, after the State 15U Selection process.


Tier 1:

Zoe Claridge

Emma Johns

Zanna Jodlowska

Shelby Miller

Ashleigh Probert-Hill


Tier 2:

Jess Byers

Ella Cooney

Alanna Cooper

Jess Earney

Taylah Griffin

Maddi Hay

Kendall Jones

Hannah Lenthall

Ella Marsh

Hayley McDougall

Hayley Older

Grace Pullen

Tahlia Randall

Piper Sanders

Megan Steele

Courtney Treloar

Montana Viney

Charlie Wheller



James Adams

Eloise Fox