ANL Finals Preview

The Tasmanian Magpies will return to the Deakin University Australian Netball League (DUANL) finals series this weekend in a bid to achieve back-to-back premierships.

The #TASMAGS will enter the two-day finals series with the exact same teams and play-off matches that saw them enter the weekend in third position and go on to claim their inaugural premiership in 2018.

In her first year with the Tasmanian Magpies, Head Coach, Elissa Kent says she extremely proud of the team to make it to this point in the competition and looks forward to watching what they can achieve this weekend.

“I have really enjoyed watching this group develop on and off the court and see each individual live by that team first attitude.”

“Seeing each player step up at different moments and to watch them grow and understand their own strengths which they’ve then used in critical moments on the court.”

“I have found my time with the TAS group very enjoyable – they are like sponges and just want to grow and learn” Kent told Tasmanian Magpies Media.

After a week off, the team are set to face second placed NNSW Waratahs in the minor semi-final on Saturday. The winner will then proceed through to the Grand Final, to take on either VIC Fury or Canberra Giants on the Sunday.

Coach Kent acknowledged that the Waratahs like to play a “possession” style of netball, so a team focus will be on disrupting that type of play with strong defensive pressure.

“A key focus will be to do the basics well as it gives you confidence in each other and there will be a real focus on each athlete doing their role and of the court” said Kent.

The two teams last met in round 5, with the Waratahs victorious in both outings. One goal separated the teams in the opening encounter and four the difference in the second, despite more opportunities at the post.

All finals matches will be played at the State Netball and Hockey Centre, Victoria.
Tickets are to be purchased upon entry, Adults $5 and Child/Concession $3.

All matches will be live streamed from the Netball Australia Facebook page.

Saturday 29 June, 3pm – VIC Fury (1st) v Canberra GIANTS (4th)
Saturday 29 June, 5:15pm – NSW Waratahs (2nd) v Tasmanian Magpies (3rd)

Sunday 30 June, 10:30am – Loser SF1 v Loser SF2

Sunday 30 June, 12:30pm – Winner SF1 v Winner SF2