Three Tasmanian’s selected in 2018 National COE Squad


Netball Australia today announced their 2018 Centre of Excellence (COE) 17U and 19U and Tall Athlete National Squads.

A squad of 36 17U athletes and 26 19U athletes have been selected and will attend National Squad camps at the Netball Centre of Excellence in Canberra. Of that, Tasmania had Ashleigh Probert-Hill picked up in the 19U Squad and Hayley McDougall and Alanna Cooper in the 17U Squad.

The squads were selected after the conclusion of the National Netball Championships, where athletes were selected on the demonstration of their potential as well as their performances throughout the six-day tournament.

Netball Centre of Excellence Head Coach and Selection Panel Chair Michelle Wilkins said selection in the 17U and 19U squads was the next step for the athletes in their progression through Netball Australia’s high performance pathway.

“The camps are a fantastic opportunity for the athletes, and for us to challenge them in our high performance training centre amongst other talented athletes from across the country.” Wilkins said.

During the camp, athletes will be exposed to a high performance training environment both on and off the court, while Wilkins said they would also be guided in the lead-up to the camp to ensure they were prepared for the camp and for their future development, with all nationally-selected athletes now entering a daily high performance program and training environment in their home states.

This will be the second time Probert-Hill has attended a COE camp – but despite previous attendance she said it still came as a surprise.

“I am very excited to be given the opportunity to work with other athletes and coaches from across the state”

“I gained a lot of experience last year at the 17U COE and can’t wait to build on it” she said.

It will be a first time experience for young guns in Cooper and McDougall. However it’s been a year of amazing experiences for McDougall having previously attended the Holden Centre at the start of the year as part of her Tasmanian Magpies training partner involvement.

“It’s a great honour to be selected in the squad and I’m really looking forward to the experience and the development that comes with it” McDougall said.

The 19 and Under camp and Tall Athlete camp will run from Monday 9 July to Thursday 12 July, while the 17 and Under camp will run from Monday 1 October to Friday 5 October.


Nyah Allen (SA)
Lucy Austin (SA)
Ruby Barkmeyer (VIC)
Charlie Bell (QLD)
Taylah Brown (VIC)
Sloan Burton (WA)
Maggie Caris (VIC)
Madison Cooley (QLD)
Alanna Cooper (TAS)
Tahlia Dnistrjanski (SA)
Sophie Dwyer (NSW)
Lily Gribble (QLD)
Holly Hancox (ACT)
Malia Harrison (ACT)
Georgie Horjus (SA)
Abigail Houston (QLD)
Nakita Jackson (NSW)
Georgia Kraft (SA) *
Matisse Letherbarrow (NSW)
Hayley McDougall (TAS)
Annie Miller (NSW)
Leesa MiMi (QLD)
Hannah Mundy (VIC)
Uneeq Palavi (VIC)
Maddison Ridley (VIC)
Leilani Rohweder (NSW)
Ella Sigley (WA)
Paris Sinclair (SA)
Amy Sligar (NSW)
Tegan Stephenson (VIC)
Giselle Taylor (WA)
Ella Taylor (WA)
Emma Walters (VIC)
Molly Watson (SA)
Bethany Williams (NT)
Brooke Wilson (NT)
*subject to medical clearance



Sienna Allen (SA)
Sunday Aryang  (WA)
Chelsea Blackman (SA)
Kate Bunten (WA)
Eliza Burton (ACT)
Gabrielle Coffey (VIC)
Bridey Condron (QLD)
Zoe Cransberg (VIC)
Georgia Dent (SA)
Tippah Dwan (QLD)
Gabrielle Dwyer (VIC)
Madeline Eaton (NSW)
Tayla Fraser (NSW)
Macy Gardner (QLD)
Daisy Hill (NT/VIC)
Olivia Lewis (WA)
Sacha McDonald (VIC)
Matilda McDonell (NSW)
Maisie Nankivell (SA)
Tyler Orr (SA)
Teigan O’Shannassy (NSW)
Elizabeth Paice  (NT)
Ashleigh Probert-Hill (TAS)
Allie Smith (VIC)
Latika Tombs (NSW)
Molly Warne (WA)