Tasmanian Netball Hall of Fame Inductees 2019

Netball Tasmania is pleased to announce the 2019 (inaugural) Inductees to the Tasmanian Netball Hall of Fame. Inductees will be formally Inducted at a ceremony being held on Saturday October 5thin Hobart.


Inductees in the category of Athlete include:

  • Well known Tasmanian Netball identity Fiona Geappenwho played for Australia at 21&U level and is a championship player in the National Netball League with Melbourne Phoenix;
  • Rosalie Parkswho was the first ever Tasmanian to tour with an Australian team;
  • Former Australian World Cup Championship Captain Margaret Caldow who was named as the Captain of the ‘World Team’ at the 1975 World Cup;
  • Long-time Tasmanian State Captain Shirley Huntwho played a test series for Australia in 1960.
  • Tasmania’s most capped Australian player Natasha Chokljat-Lewwho played 29 matches for Australia and played in five National League Championship teams with Melbourne Phoenix and Melbourne Vixens.


Inductees in the category of Official include:

  • AA Badged umpire Marj Kerslakewho officiated in the National Netball League, served as an umpire coach and allocator at both State and National level, and is a long-time umpire, coach and administrator within Tasmanian Netball circles;
  • High Performance accredited coach Jon Fletcherwho was the first male coach in the National Netball League and was a National Championship winning coach with the NSW 21&U team;
  • International badged umpire Joshua Bowringwho has officiated at National Netball League, World Cup and Commonwealth Games level and was awarded the Lorna McConchie Umpire of the Year award by Netball Australia in 2017.
  • Jenny Tatlowwho was an AA badged umpire who, through her work at a National level, was instrumental in changing the interpretation of the stepping rule to what it is today.


Inductees in the category of Volunteer include:

  • Former President of the Tasmanian Netball Association, All Australian Netball Association, and International Federation of Netball, Jean Gardiner;
  • Judy Headlamwho is a former Tasmanian Netball Association President who was instrumental in the establishment and ongoing management of the Tasmanian Netball League (State League);
  • Former AA badged umpire Betty Roperwho served on the All Australian Netball Association Umpire Allocation committee, before serving as President of both the Tasmanian Netball Association and All Australian Netball Association.
  • Former State athlete Joy Symeswho was former a President of the Southern Tasmanian Netball Association before joining the Tasmanian Netball Association where she served in various roles, including President, over an eighteen-year period.


Inductees in the category of Team include:

  • The Tasmanian State Schoolgirls team of 1956who are recognised for the impressive achievement of winning a National Championship; and
  • The Tasmanian State Schoolgirls team of 1960who are recognised for the impressive achievement of winning a National Championship.


Netball Tasmania CEO Aaron Pidgeon said he was very happy with the process to determine the inaugural inductees and excited at the opportunity to recognise the fantastic contributions of inductees to Tasmanian Netball.

‘An independent selection panel was appointed to review nominations and I’m really pleased to say that we had a large number of quality nominations’.

‘I believe that everyone will agree that the 2019 Inductees have excelled in their fields and that the contributions that they have made to Tasmanian Netball, directly and indirectly, are significant. The Hall of Fame presents a fantastic opportunity to honour them and to better bring to life the rich history of Tasmanian Netball’.

‘I’m excited not only about this Induction but about the many more fantastic contributors to Tasmanian Netball that we will be able to honour in the coming years through the Hall of Fame’.

More information on each inductee can be found via the Hall of Fame page on our website.