2018 Netball Tasmania Awards Night

Netball Tasmania held its annual awards night on Saturday 8th September at the Grand Chancellor Launceston. Previously just recognszing the achievements of the RACT Insurance Tasmania Netball League, this year saw the night broaden its horizons to celebrate and recognise the wider achievements within the Tasmanian Netball Community.

The night was hosted by Talking Sports Tasmania’s own Rick Fontyn, with Magpies Netball and Suncorp Super Netball Stars Madi Robinson, Matilda Garrett and Kelsey Browne in attendance. Kelsie Rainbow, a Tasmanian Pathway athlete and 2018 Tasmanian Magpie and Magpies Netball Training Partner, also returned home for the night to present the 19U Best & Fairest Award and talk about her successes since making the move to Victoria.

During the night, Netball Tasmania launched the inaugural association awards, showing recognition of the hard work that is done at association levels around the state. We were privileged enough to have representatives from some of the associations join us for the night.

In the expansion of the dinner, all state and national athletes, coaches and officials were acknowledged for their respective levels of representation. Netball Tasmania were also lucky enough to Tasmanian IUA Umpire and fresh from his second SSN Grand Final, Josh Bowring in attendance to help present the two umpiring awards.

The following awards were presented on the night:

19U Premiers

Opens Premiers
Northern Hawks

19U Coach of the Year
Belinda Vinen (Cripps)

Opens Coach of the Year
Dannie Carstens (Cavaliers)

2018 Elite Coaching Accreditation
Alicia Sargent
Erin Baker

19U Coaches Most Wanted
Alanna Cooper (Arrows)

Opens Coaches Most Wanted
Alex Vinen (Cripps)

Member Association Participation Award
Southern Tasmanian Netball Association

Member Association High Performance Award
Southern Tasmanian Netball Association
St Helens Netball Association

19U All Star Team
GS – Stacey Fox (Arrows)
GA – Katia Howell (Cripps)
WA – Lace McHugh (Cavaliers)
C – Piper Sanders (Cavaliers)
WD – Shannae Heazlewood (Cavaliers)
GD – Hannah Lenthall (Hawks)
GK – Alanna Cooper (Arrows)

Opens All Star Team
GS – Ashlea Mawer (Hawks)
GA – Dannielle Pickett (Hawks)
WA – Shelby Miller (Cavaliers)
C – Ashton Whiley (Hawks)
WD – Kaitlin Petrie (Karana)
GD – Zanna Jodlowska (Karana)
GK – Alex Vinen (Cripps)

Emerging Umpire of the Year
Hannah Donoghue (Kilburn)

Umpire of the Year
Rachael Stebbings (NTNA)

19U Best & Fairest
‘Natasha Chokljat Award’
Shannae Heazlewood (Cavaliers) – 22pts
Brigitte Clack (Kingston) – 22pts

Member Association Service Award
Southern Tasmanian Netball Association

Member Association Volunteer of the Year
Marj Kerslake

Opens Best & Fairest
‘Rosalie Parkes Award’
Greta Shelton (Kingston) – 21pts

Opens Runner Up Best & Fairest
Ashlea Mawer (Hawks) – 20pts